HPCI News: New Hospital Safety Grades Released

To: Members and Selected Others

The Leapfrog Group has released the Spring Hospital Safety Grades for over 2,600 U.S. hospitals. Sixty (60) plus are greater Iowa hospitals and 31 within Iowa. This year marks the fifth year since the launch of these grades which are the only national health care rating focused on errors, accidents and infections. Preventable errors are the third leading cause of death in America.

The program assigns A, B, C, D and F letter grades to general acute care hospitals in the U. S. This safety grade is calculated by patient safety experts, peer reviewed, fully transparent and free to the public. Greater Iowa hospitals receiving an A and B are listed below. Others not shown, receiving a C or D, can be found using the link below.

“A” Hospitals:

  • Allen, Waterloo
  • Iowa Methodist, Des Moines
  • Lakes Regional, Spirit Lake
  • Mercy, Iowa City
  • Mercy, Clinton
  • Mercy, Dubuque
  • Jennie Edmundson, Council Bluffs
  • Spencer Hospital, Spencer
  • Finley, Dubuque
  • St. Lukes, Cedar Rapids
  • CHI Health – Immanuel, Omaha
  • Mayo Clinic – Methodist, Rochester
  • Mayo Clinic – Saint Mary’s, Rochester
  • Gunderson Lutheran, La Crosse
  • OSF St. Mary’s, Galesburg
  • Unity Point Health – Methodist, Peoria

“B” Hospitals

  • Grinnell Regional, Grinnell
  • Iowa Lutheran, Des Moines
  • Mary Greeley, Ames
  • Mercy, Mason City
  • St. Anthony, Carroll
  • Trinity Regional, Fort Dodge
  • CHI Health – Lakeside, Omaha
  • Methodist, Omaha
  • Avera McKennan, Sioux Falls
  • Sanford University of South Dakota, Sioux Falls
  • Unity Point – Proctor, Peoria

For more information about Hospital Safety Grades as well as individual hospital grades and state rankings, please visit www.hospitalsafetygrade.org.

Paul M. Pietzsch, MPH
HPCI - IHBA Office
4430 Ashley Park Drive
West Des Moines, Iowa 50265
(515) 778-6300

back to the top