St. Luke's Hospital Recognized by the Leapfrog Group as One of Nation's "HIGHEST VALUE" Hospitals

Leapfrog Highest Value Hospital Awards will be presented at the Leapfrog Annual Meeting, at the Palomar Hotel in Washington, DC, December 12, 2008. The award is sponsored by Aetna, CIGNA, and Wellpoint.

The Leapfrog Group uses its members' collective leverage to initiate breakthrough improvements in the safety, quality, and affordability of health care for Americans. The Leapfrog Group was founded in November 2000 by the Business Roundtable and is supported by its members, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, The Commonwealth Fund, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and other sources.

The Iowa Health Buyers Alliance (IHBA) and the Health Policy Corporation of Iowa (HPCI) are the Leapfrog Group Regional Rollout Leaders for greater Iowa. IHBA is an association of health care customers (consumers and purchasers) working together for a patient centered health system, improved quality, wellness, and increased transparency and disclosure. The HPCI, formed in 1982, develops and supports initiatives which relate to cost containment, quality and access of health services in Iowa.